Main Nav
U.S. to Impose Ban on Entry of Nonimmigrants from India Effective May 4

U.S. to Impose Ban on Entry of Nonimmigrants from India Effective May 4

April 30, 2021

Citing a commitment to “science-based public health measures,” today President Biden issued a “Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Nonimmigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus Disease 2019,” which specifically restricts the entry of most non-U.S. citizens from India.

The new restriction on travel from India will go into effect on Tuesday, May 4. Once in effect, most non-U.S. citizens who have been physically present in India for the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry, will not be eligible to travel to the U.S.

The Proclamation does not apply to citizens, permanent residents, and certain close family members.

All restrictions will remain in effect until terminated, and the latest Proclamation orders the Secretary of Health and Human Services to review conditions in 30 days, and by the end of each month thereafter.

In general, nonimmigrants still encounter many hurdles in returning to the U.S. due to other travel restrictions and consular office closures or reduced hours due to COVID. Currently, individuals who have been in one of the following countries in the 14 days preceding entry to the U.S. are also not permitted to enter the U.S.: the Schengen Area, the U.K., Ireland, China, Brazil, Iran and South Africa. Land travel between the U.S., Canada and Mexico is still restricted. In addition, a negative COVID test is required for all entering the U.S. via airline travel, and must enter quarantine if they have not been vaccinated. Please see our website for prior posts on these restrictions.

Weaver Schlenger will continue to provide travel updates on our website.

News Alert Signup


“WSM is right there to help when an immigration situation arises.”